Cast Thy Burden

After completing MANY applications online and hitting my knees several times a day…the Lord has answered our prayers for flexible, part-time employment for me while we’re in town. Psalm 55:22 says:

“Cast thy burden upon the LORD, and he shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved.”

One of my former employers and also a friend, whom I called first before completing any other applications, returned my call and is willing to be flexible with my hours, which may require me being in the office alone at night, but he is willing to bend in that area. Also, when I called, I offered to do ANYTHING the business might need, expecting to fill in for the most basic job, just to be able to bring in some income. This phone call was not only to offer flexible hours, but to assist in the business aspect of the company, which is much more responsibility than the most basic job. What a humbling experience to be given such great responsibility when I was expecting so much less. I immediately called Kyle and hit my knees again while on the phone with him.
The last part of Psalm 55:22 speaks to me about God not moving me out of my role as a stay-at-home mom. An hour or so before this phone call was received Katie Mae waved “bye-bye” for the first time. I grabbed the video camera and also recorded it on my phone to send to her Daddy at work. The whole time I was recording her I just kept thinking, “I’m so glad I was here for this…I’m so glad I got to see her do this first!” My paraphrasing may not be accurate, but my application of this verse is…We have cast our burden on the Lord. He has and is and will sustain us, and He has not caused my heart to suffer by asking me to move out of my current role, just to be a little flexible with it.

Leave a Reply

