Matthew 5:13a says “You are the salt of the earth…”salt
As a woman who enjoys cooking…This got me thinking…
Salt is used to season things. To give something more flavor or zest…
 
Am I being the salt in my children’s lives?
(There are other relationships this can be related to, but this hit me like a ton of bricks about my children)
Am I seasoning them with Christ, or, am I allowing others or other things (intentionally or unintentionally) to do the work the Lord has instructed me to do? Am I allowing friends, relatives, tv shows, movies, commercials, books, magazines at check out stands, billboards, etc. to season my childrens’ palates?   How about my lack of energy, my attitude, my frustration, how I speak to others/about others, or my embarrasment (ouch!) What will their “taste buds” crave? Will it be the things of God? This is an interesting point for me because one of the prayers I’ve always prayed for them is that they would not be attracted to the things of this world, but find them distasteful in their mouths! seasoning
Another interesting finding for me was that Websters also defines season as: to treat (as a skillet) so as to prepare for use. Is this the role of a mom (and dad) or what??? To be the salt, to season their children so they will find the things of the Lord tasteful and pleasing to their palate AND our purpose for this “seasoning” is to prepare them for God’s use. Look at the difference in the pictures above. Salt is  distinguishable, easily recognized by it’s looks and taste. Can you name the seasonings in the 2nd picture? Some of them maybe, but for the most part they are unidentifiable. Our “seasoning” on our children (and others) should be distinguishable.
Ex. 33:16 “What else will distinguish me and your people from all the other people on the face of the earth?”
Daniel 6:3a “Now Daniel so distinguished himself…”
Heb. 5:14 “But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil.”
One final thought, salt is used in almost everything, both sweet and savory. This is a reminder that we should teach our children that every part of our lives are to be seasoned, not just Sundays for worship at church, not just when we decide to read a scripture (such as Bible class for those homeschoolers), then forget about Him the rest of the day. He should be a part of  the sweet and savory parts of  every moment of our lives. What a great picture for us, but also an area to consider for our own lives as well. Who am I allowing to season my life? What kind of taste am I leaving on others’ palates?
Comments on: "Who/What is seasoning you and yours??" (2)

  1. Great post. You’re turning into quite the excellent blogger! Love the new layout too. I had a great time last night. Looking forward to our next outing…”double date night!” 🙂 Love you girl!

  2. Great post Tara. Really gives us something to ponder.
    Courtney gave me your blogsite b/c I LOVE to read blogs. I’ll put yours on my favorites too.
    From Jennifer @ SRP

Leave a Reply

